When did you know?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately, especially when it comes to travelling and where I’d like to go. Down to the reason for this post, as I mentioned in my last post for 2015 I always had this burning desire to travel. The more I think about it, the more I realise just how far back this feeling went. Growing up as a kid, I always loved visiting places like airports, harbours and now train stations.

One of my favourite places to visit is the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town, there is this restaurant that has a wonderful upper-deck overlooking the harbour. Every time I go I make an effort to try go there at lease once for breakfast quite early and then I sit and watch as the harbour comes to life.

IMG_0777
V&A Waterfront – Cape Town, South Africa

 

I could literally sit for hours at all these place and watch the people come and go, watch the planes or boats come and go. You can’t help but wonder where everyone is headed, what journey are they going on. Are they travelling for work, are they going on holiday or are they just visiting? I have heard from a lot of people that travel for work, that sometimes you get sick of all the travelling and waiting. Then again I’m sure for them it is different then for us travellers. Maybe the reason for that is we don’t travel twice a week or even more.

IMG_2573
Manchester Piccadilly Train Station – Manchester, United Kingdom

As I mentioned, I always knew one day I would be one of those people who I grew up watching. Even though I have travelled a couple of times in my life (it has never been a regular occurrence apart from my annual local holiday), the circumstances that have brought me to where I am now in the UK have finally landed me in a position where I am able to travel more often than I could have ever done from South Africa. It’s kind of a bitter-sweet situation and I think it just might be my saving grace as well. For me, I love that feeling I get when I’m travelling – that sense of excitement, adventure, that feeling of discovering the unknown and discovering other cultures. My next adventure is only 2 months away and I cannot wait for it.

IMG_3605
V&A Waterfront – Cape Town, South Africa

I would love to hear from you, tell me when did you know?

Leave a Reply

