Inspiration

Hey 🙂


I’m new to this so bear with me.. I am starting this as I would like to create a page where I can share my stories with everyone and hopefully motivate and inspire everyone along the way.


Just a little about myself- first off, I’m currently 23 and have been diagnosed with Charcot-Marie-Tooth (Read here for more info – http://www.charcot-marie-tooth.org/about_cmt/overview.php) and have been living with this for.. oh since I can remember. This obviously affects everything I do and makes it just that much harder as well. But hey why should life get you down right? I can say it has never got me down, never stopped me from doing anything I put my mind to. I’ve recently got back into cycling and am loving every second of it (have a training ride tomorrow. Can’t wait!!) CMT definitely makes cycling harder, but then I just put more effort into and train harder. I did my first (in about 7 years) 100km race last year November with only 3 months of training and finished the race in about 4h30, which i think isn’t bad going at all and I did the race for charity (Always nice to support a cause). I currently plan to try and raise funds in any future events I partake in. My next race is in March (Argus Cycle Tour – Check it out http://www.cycletour.co.za/). I am hoping to do about 3h30, going to be a tough push, but we’ll see how I fair. I haven’t got as much road training as I would have liked to, but I am hoping all my spinning classes will make up for it. Wish me luck.


Getting back on track.. as mentioned I would like to share my stories and hopefully these will inspire people to chase their own dreams and come to the realization that with hard work and dedication anything is possible. Yes i said hard work, nothing comes easy in life, but at the of the day it is absolutely worth it. My next big goal is to compete in an Iron Man Event. It is going to take a lot of training, especially taking into account that I can barely run at all with my feet in their current state. I do plan on training for at least the next 9 – 12 months before competing in any events.. I am still looking into training plans and hope to find a decent one soon (If anyone has any plans, please do let me know).


Will check in soon.
Jay

One thought on “Inspiration”

  1. Hi Jason, I too have CMT. I'm almost 41 and it has been really affecting me a lot more lately. Keep blogging….I have many members of my family who are also affected with CMT. I'll share your blog and see if they care to follow too.Angie

Leave a Reply

